key terms

City of Los Angeles Historical-Cultural Monument
In 1962 the City of Los Angeles enacted the Los Angeles Cultural Heritage Ordinance, which made possible the designation of buildings and sites as local landmarks. Properties of historic or cultural significance can be nominated for designation as a local landmark and if designated receive certain protections and eligibility for the Mills Act.

Historic Preservation Overlay Zones (HPOZ’s)
The Los Angeles City Council in 1979 adopted the ordinance enabling the designation of historic districts, known here as HPOZ’s. Designated neighborhoods are those with distinct historic or cultural significance. Designation provides some protections and overview.

Mills Act
Enacted in 1972, the Act grants local governments the authority to enter into contracts with owners of eligible historic properties who commit to restoring and maintaining their properties in exchange for property tax savings.

California Register of Historical Resources
Administered by the California Office of Historic Preservation, the California Register serves as a guide to the State’s resources of architectural, historical, archeological or cultural significance. While the designation criteria are similar to those of the National Register, there is no 50-year age requirement. California Register designation affords limited protections and eligibility for the
Mills Act.

National Register of Historic Places
Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Register is the official list of the Nation’s historic places worthy of preservation. Eligibility is dependent upon meeting the National Register Criteria for Evaluation, which entails meeting the 50-year age requirement, integrity and significance. Listing is primarily honorary in nature and does not generally provide any protection, limitations or obligations of private property owners.

Secretary of the Interior's Standards for the Treatment of Historic Properties
The Secretary’s Standards are simply federal guidelines of best practices for the preservation, rehabilitation, restoration and reconstruction of an historic property and its site. The Standards “are neither technical nor prescriptive, but intend to promote responsible preservation practices that help promote our Nation’s irreplaceable cultural resources.”